Teething….

Standard

Hey! Anyone else have a teething baby out there?…it kinda sucks! Not only for them…but for everyone involved…

First, Lets talk about the baby’s pain. Their poor little gums….bone is pushing its way thru very sensitive skin. I think I know pain… I have a tattoo and 12 piercings plus I have given birth twice, but I think their pain might be worse. I have heard that if an adult had to teethe, they wouldn’t be able to handle it.

Second, let’s talk about parent pain. Parents experience this pain differently. Some experience it in loss of sleep or feeling so bad for their baby going thru the pain. I for one, experience both. Loss of sleep is terrible, especially if you have an older sibling running around that you need to keep up with or a job you need to function properly at the next day. Secondly, loss of sleep just sucks in general…it makes me miss pre-baby naps I could take whenever….haha! When my baby is so uncomfortable and in pain, my heart hurts for her/him. I sit there and think…”Why? Humans are on the top of the food chain, we are animals, why are our babies so unprepared (look at other animals, have teeth and can walk minutes after birth)when they are born?”

Anyone else feel this way?

This is what works for me…

Patience, love, amber necklace, breastfeeding, refrigerator cool chew toys, acetephetomine, pacifiers, patience…

Amber necklaces are great! I know there is some controversy out there about them…the normal, do they work? How can you put a necklace with small beads on a baby?…etc. For my son and so far, for my daughter they seem to help. Unfortunately, when 5-8 teeth come in at the same times, it doesn’t help…this is where acetephetomine comes into help. I use it as as last resort…I always always always breastfeed first to provide comfort to my child. However, when 5-8 teeth are coming in at once…I can see why my baby wouldn’t want a nipple in their mouth. As much as I want to be the one to calm and soothe my baby…sometimes modern medicine has to help!

For baby #2 I have discovered a wonderful teething oil! Punkin Butt
Teething Oil.

IMG_0618-0.PNG
“Description

Baby’s first tooth is a joy to behold, until discomfort arrives in the form of gum sensitivity, fussiness, irritability, and refusing food. Gently massaging Teething oil, made with essential oils of chamomile, clove and peppermint, on baby’s gums will help banish teething pain and soothe baby (and probably the entire family). Packaged in an amber glass bottle to protect the essential oils.

Ingredients: Vitis vinifera (Grapeseed) Oil, Helianthus annuus (Organic Sunflower) Oil, Sesamum indicum (Organic Sesame) Oil and/or Prunus armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Essential oil blend (chamomile, clove, peppermint), Citrus grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract.”

For us, this is the BEST product so far! It smells good, tastes good, and works good…I mean well… Haha! Be careful if you get it near your lips/mouth…it does numb it for a bit…hahah

Here is their site:
Www.punkinbutt.com
*description from punkinbutt.com

Please remember…Especially those going through this now and suffering! You will make it thru! May take a bit, but you will! I promise!

Till next time!

**I am not affiliated with punkinbutt.com the above is my statement and mine alone

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

One response »

  1. I might have to try this. My guy has his 8th tooth coming through and this one seems to bother him the most. So far, mesh teethers with an ice cube and some vanilla extract rubbed on his gums is working well but that’s rather inconvenient at 2am.

    Like

Leave a Reply

