Recipe~Organic Vegetable Pot Pie

Standard

The other night I was watching the news and saw the weather…it was supposed to get cold…Well, cold for us.

I thought yum, a pot pie would be great…then I thought let’s try and make a veggie pot pie rather than adding meat. Just another way to make some lifestyle changes and be a bit healthier!

Ingredients:
-serves six crock bowls
-Organic (vegan) pie crust (whole foods)
-A lot of organic veggies…
I used- 1/2 a bag of corn(frozen)
1 stalk of broccoli (cut up)
5 large carrots
8 organic cremini mushrooms
4 stalks celery
1onion
and whatever veggies you want. Among my added varies on the amount of pot pie you are making.
-1box vegetable broth(I think 4 cups)
-seasoning-pepper,salt, poultry seasoning
-cornstarch or flour(to thicken broth)

What to do:
1- Sauté veggies in a little olive oil beginning with the harder veggies(meaning carrots before onions).

2-Once veggies are a little softer and all are on pan, add veggie broth. Leaving one cup aside to add later.

3- Cook covered for 20 minutes a nice simmer.

4-Mix 1 tablespoon and remaining cool broth(best to put in container to shake up) then pour into pan.
5-Raising heat slightly get that boil going for sauce to thicken. About 10-15 minutes.

6-Pour a ladle of vegetable mixture into crock bowls.

7-Add a covering of pie crust (cut to fit bowls-round or square- however you like).

8-Bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes.

9-Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly.

10-Enjoy with a fork or spoon!

Sorry, I forgot to take pictures 😦

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

Leave a Reply

