Asparagus and Mushroom Tarts-Organic Where I Could!

Standard

These make an excellent appetizer or can stand as a side.

They are so delish!

INGREDIENTS

1 17.3-ounce package organic frozen puff pastry (2 sheets), thawed
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted organic butter
12 ounces fresh organic shiitake and organic baby portobello mushrooms stemmed, caps cut into 1/4-inch-wide strips
1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
1 pound slender organic asparagus spears, trimmed, and cut into 1 inch pieces
1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme
1 1/2 teaspoons finely grated lemon peel
1/2 cup crème fraîche
1/2 cup (packed) coarsely grated Gruyère cheese

PREPARATION

-Take pastry sheet out a few hours -before you want to work(especially if frozen), you want it to defrost.
Roll out each pastry sheet into a square.
-Cut each into 4 squares.
Set aside.
-Now it’s time to make the filling!
-Melt butter in pan over medium-high heat.
-Add mushrooms; sprinkle salt and pepper.
-Sauté until tender and lightly browned.
-Take mushrooms off heat and out of pan to cool down. Best to put in another bowl.
-Now add asparagus, thyme, lemon peel, salt, and pepper to mushrooms. –Mix in crème fraîche and cheese.
-Mound filling atop pastry squares, leaving 1/2-inch plain border. I fold them sometimes.
-Bake tarts 20 minutes, until crusts are puffed and golden.
-Take out of the oven and serve as you wish.

Recipe was first discovered in Bon Appetite the magazine! This is their recipient tweaked by me.

The first time my hubby and I made it for Easter dinner a few years ago…They were/are so tasty we wanted to make more and share with our friends!

Hope you enjoy these as much as we do!

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

Leave a Reply

