Roasted Butternut Squash with Pecan Ginger Glaze (organic in parts)

Standard

So, for Thanksgiving we decided to bring two sides…this was a shot in the dark…I didn’t want to make sweet potato anything…don’t get me wrong, I love me some sweet potatoes, but I feel like that’s a go to side. I wanted to be different, so, I decided to go with a butternut squash something. After some research using the awesome inter-web, I found this recipe.

Ingredients
1 cup organic Pecan Halves, divided
¼ cup organic granulated sugar cane
3 tsp. kosher salt, divided
2 tsp. dry ginger
6 pounds (3 medium) organic butternut squash, fully peeled, seeded and cut into 1-inch cubes
2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
cup honey
cup organic maple syrup
1 cinnamon stick
½ tsp. orange zest from organic orange
¼ cup orange juice from same organic orange
1 tbsp. red wine vinegar
2 tbsp. grated fresh ginger

Directions

First, roast pecans.
-Preheat oven to 400°F.
-Line 2 rimmed baking sheets with aluminum foil. Spread pecans onto one of the baking sheets. Bake in oven for 5 minutes or until they are lightly toasted and aromatic.
-Remove nuts from baking sheet and set aside.

Time to roast the squash!
-Mix sugar, salt and dry ginger in a large bowl.
-Add squash pieces and toss to coat evenly.
-Drizzle with olive oil and stir to combine.
-Transfer ½ of mixture to each of the prepared pans, spreading the squash so that the pieces are not touching.
-Bake for 30 minutes or until the squash has begun to brown and is tender when pierced with the tip of a knife.

While squash is baking, time to make the Glaze!
-Mix honey, maple syrup, cinnamon stick, orange zest and juice, salt, vinegar and fresh ginger in a small saucepan.
-Bring to a boil over medium high heat. Reduce heat to medium and maintain a low boil until the mixture has reduced and become syrupy.
-Add them and the remaining pecan halves to the honey mixture.

Time to eat.
-Place roasted squash into a large bowl and toss with the honey pecan mixture.
-Serve immediately.

This was delicious. The shuttle hint of ginger was amazingly good.

I found the recipe on foodnetwork.com and tweaked it the way I liked it.

Hope you enjoy as much as we did!

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

Leave a Reply

