Whirlwind Thanksgiving Week!

Standard

Thank”sick”giving…Yup! That’s what our Thanksgiving was. I had two sick babies and one sick hubby.

It all began Monday morning. My husband went off to work with a tickle in his throat, nothing major. Then my son woke up with a 102.7 fever… This was the first time his fever ever got above 100. This is also the first time I have ever had to deal with something like this… so I did what I always did if he had a fever…gave him some Tylenol. Then I called my husband…I think I may have panicked a bit. I had him come home…I called the doctor and they just told me to watch it for 24hours and if it didn’t go away then to come in tomorrow… So that’s what we did! Luckily, it went away…My poor baby was so lethargic and feeling yucky… I never saw him like that before… It pulled on my heartstrings…

During the day my husband began to sneeze, cough, and say his throat hurt worse…Oh Boy! When we went to bed, he was feeling yucky, but not too yucky…He woke up and he was terrible, his throat was swollen. About two months ago, he had uvulitis, swollen uvula {hanging thing in back of throat}, that he went to the ER. His throat looked like that again, but not on the scary scale of how it was the last time. I told him to stay home. He insisted on going to work. At 11:30am he walked back in the door! Now, I have two sick boys in the house…Ethan was a bit better, no fever, but runny nose and a hacking cough and still very lethargic. Homeschool Pre-K took a break this week.

We were invited to go to Thanksgiving dinner over at our very good friends’ house. I texted them our status, because we were making the stuffing and another side, I didn’t want to just ditch them. This way they were prepared if we called on Wednesday night to say we weren’t coming. As Tuesday progressed, the boys were sick and Mommy and Eva were fine!

Wednesday, hubby stays home, Ethan is a little perkier-nowhere near 100%, but definitely better, Eva and mommy, still ok! We have a normal sick day, watch some TV, play some games, nap, mommy tries to get some stuff done, key word, try. As a family, since no one has a fever anymore, we make the executive decision to go to dinner.

I’m so glad that we did! We had an amazing time with our friends’ family. Our son calls one of our friend’s parents Grammy and Gruffy! They are Ethan’s extended grandparents and he loves it! And we know that they love him. Our family is far away, so we only go to them for Christmas time, so it was lovely to be surrounded by them.

We arrived home a little late, but the kiddies were sleeping and we managed to transfer both of them to bed without waking them…First time ever! At 3:30AM Eva awakes screaming her head off. I get her, and she’s burning up. I take her little temperature and Whoa! It’s 103.5…I get my hubby up and have him run a luke-warm bath, while I try to nurse her to calm her down… HAHA! Yeah right, she was so uncomfortable, she couldn’t stop to eat. So, at 3:40AM, we got her in the bath and she started to calm. As soon as she was calm enough to not choke, we gave her some Tylenol. I began pouring water down her back and over her shoulders while she played and splashed. I think we had her in there for 30-40 minutes. When we took her out, she was still warm, but not burning up. I retook her temp and it was at 101, I was so relieved. We got a diaper on her, and crawled into bed and I nursed her to sleep. When she woke up, she was happy and warm. Her fever was riding at 100; she had a runny runny nose, and now a hacking cough. I didn’t call the doctor this time, because of what they said when I called for Ethan. I watched it and by dinner time her fever was gone.

Happy Than”sick”giving! Having two sick babies and one sick hubby doesn’t help me get anything done. For the past week our house looked like a bomb exploded laundry, toys, and dishes everywhere… HAHA! I have finally begun to catch up, that even includes this blog.

Somehow we managed to decorate for Christmas over the weekend…It’s kind of a big deal for me…Ethan and hubby are much better, Eva just still has a runny nose. And I’m finally starting to clean up our house…Catching up feels nice.

I am the only one that didn’t get sick. Fingers crossed that it’s not lingering and going to hit me hard…

Till Next time!

IMG_1620.JPG all of us at Thanksgiving dinner!

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

Leave a Reply

