104.5…Ick

Standard

When I finished my last post, it was like a cliffhanger… I wanted to end the story.

So, three days after the children’s museum, my son had a fever. I was thinking, here we go again another sickness cycle.

I figured out he had a fever just before his nap time. So, before he laid down, I gave him some fever reducer, read him a story, and he passed out. He napped for three hours. Normally, he only naps for two hours, sometimes an hour and a half. This was a sign that he still wasn’t feeling well. When he woke up, he said “my feet hurt, and my arms” I was thinking he had pins and needles from napping. So, I told him lets jump and wake them up…he did a jump then walked away and laid on the couch. He even grabbed a blanket and cuddled up on the couch. This is definitely not normal after nap behavior…usually he’s a little ball of energy. I felt so bad for him…

I wanted to lower the chance of Eva getting sick, I tried to keep them separated as much as I could…Normally, we give them joint baths…not tonight!

Ethan, was a mushy cuddly sleepy boy. That is also another trigger for my husband and I to know he’s not feeling well.

My dad is visiting, so he and I went to a AHL hockey game(we are both major hockey fans). So my husband was on baby duty. They watched a movie and then took a bath. Just before bed, Ethan’s fever spiked to 103.4…my husband gave him some fever reducer and put him to bed… He conked out.

When he woke up in the am, he was a bubbly ball of energy again! A nice 24 hour bug/virus…this was Friday night.

Sunday morning, I woke up feeling like butt. I awoke to a sore throat and achy everything…Side note, thank goodness that this was a national holiday weekend and my husband was home… I laid on the couch all day, only getting up to eat and use the bathroom. Now, I completely understood how Ethan felt the day before… By dinner time, I was beginning to get the chills. I took my temperature and it was 100.3…So I decided to take a shower… Bad idea! It made my chills and aches worse. I decided to take ibuprofen to control the fever.

I bundled up and curled up under four blankets on the couch, I was literally shivering… I took my temperature again, and it was 103.7…. I then got in a temperate bath (Oh my goodness! That’s torture) it brought my
fever down to 101.3… I was still shivering and super achy everywhere.

I finally fell asleep! (My husband is sweet he laid on the couch with me
For a while and then went to bed once I was asleep…He didn’t want me to be alone!…Super brownie points for him) At some point I. The middle of the night I awoke in a puddle of sweat… I uncovered myself and got right back to sleep…when I woke up, I felt great minus a few aches.

I was fine all day, just a super sore throat, so I continued to rest and take naps. Like I said before thank goodness my husband had off today, he totally took care of me and the kids(went to the aquarium). Then, around summertime, I decided to take a shower… Again, bad idea! The chills and aches came right back. I took my temperature and again back up to 100.5…
This time I decided to drink a hot toddy…tea, whiskey, honey and lemon. Good old fashion medicine… Then my fever spiked to 104.5… I immediately got up and in the bath. Thank goodness this lowers temperature… It may be uncomfortable, but it works! 25 minutes in the bath, now I’m sitting here typing this with a 99.6-100.4

I am definitely heading to bed now! Hopefully, I will feel better tomorrow… If not then off to the docs I go!😷

I haven’t been sick like this in forever! I hope this isn’t the flu… You know the one year I don’t get the flu shot… And as the commercial says, “Moms can’t take sick days!” Thank goodness my dad is here too!

Till next time! 😄

2015/01/img_2565.jpg my cuddle buddy on the couch!

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

Leave a Reply

