Being Sick and A SAHM

Standard

I have to be completely honest…It’s pretty terrible…No, really terrible!

First of all, being sick in general stinks! Now, add having happy hyper kids, that only want to play, totally makes it worse. Lastly, the sick you (who only wants to curl up in a ball), has to be responsible, functional and care for those children=the worst! Please don’t be mistaken, I LOVE MY KIDS! I love them more than life itself, but when I’m sick, I want to be the one to curl up on the couch, watch tv and nap. I don’t want to be the responsible one and have to clean, feed, change and wipe hineys…

This is the first time I have been this sick in 2 and 1/2 years. It was a really a hard challenge to face. I knew I had my babies to care for, laundry to do, clean, spend time with my dad…etc. Instead of just relaxing, I began to google “ways to get better faster”. Turns out there really isn’t much… Haha! Then I started to get agitated and depressed. I felt like I was failing at being a mom and wife. I kept apologizing to my husband, saying “I’m sorry I can’t take Ethan potty, do laundry, take care of the dogs…etc”. He kept looking at me like I was crazy! He also reassured me… “It’s ok, I know what it feels like to be sick, rest, I’m here I got everything”. Thankfully, with his help, I was able to rest, but still be slightly functional.

I also have to say my son must have known I wasn’t feeling well, because on the first day of my sickness, he was on his best behavior! He let me rest on the couch and he played with his toys all day. On the second day of my sickness, my husband was so sweet and took the kids and Popop to the aquarium. A treat for all! They had fun exploring and I had fun resting in quiet!

I am so thankful that this happened on a weekend where my husband had a three day weekend and my dad was in town visiting (extra hands).

Luckily, whatever sickness I had only took me out for two days… Two long days! It has made me see that being sick stinks and it’s even stinkier when you have kids! But now, I am a little more prepared for next time. I can’t really say I’m totally prepared, because each sickness is different. I now know I need to accept being sick and work thru it! Maybe, Just maybe I can get lucky enough to get sick when my hubby is home. If not, we will work around it! This sickness has also helped me, in some odd way, see that this journey of being a Stay at Home Mom was the right one for me!

Till next time!

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

Leave a Reply

