I’m a Thug…Well in the Kitchen!

Standard

Holy F*cking Cookbook!…Oops, pardon my language, I’ve just been enjoying the Thug Kitchen Cookbook! 😄

IMG_0869.PNG

If you haven’t heard about it, please watch this video….Mind you it contains explicit language.

Thug Kitchen Cookbook Trailer(explicit)

I laughed so hard, I almost peed myself…after all the laughs, it made me really think. They were absolutely correct.

Luckily for Christmas, my mother gave us the book.

This cookbook has helped my family make healthier food decisions and realize what good vegan/vegetarian food is.

I’m not going to lie, going from a meat family to making vegan/vegetarian choices is overwhelming. I really thought we would get bored with flavors and items. However, we are not! It has also made us explore flavors and items we have never before. For example, vegan ricotta for lasagna.

My favorite part of this cookbook is how it is written. No, I’m not just talking about the foul language…However, I do have a mouth of a truck driver (no offense) can relate to it , and enjoy reading it. What I mean is that the book is written in a way to make it sound like your best friend is telling you how to cook these amazing recipes. It doesn’t read as if it were condescending and making you feel overwhelmed.

It’s real and down to earth. It also gives a great description of how the food should look, feel and taste. I also like that if there is an item in the recipe that can be hard to find or substituted they name the alternative.

We made the White Bean Balls with Kale Wedding soup. Which was delish! From the recipe we were able to adapt it to a previous dish, zucchini noodle pasta. This time, we made the zucchini noodles, the bean balls and sauce.

Here is the bean ball recipe:
“BEAN BALLS
Cooking spray
3 cups cooked kidney beans*
¼ cup chopped onion**
½ cup whole wheat bread crumbs
3 cloves garlic, minced
¼ cup nutritional yeast*** or flour
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon soy sauce or tamari
2 teaspoons no-salt, all-purpose seasoning blend
1 teaspoon each dried thyme, basil, and oregano
½ teaspoon grated lemon zest” -taken from Thug Kitchen online.

Like I said this book has helped my family make conscious healthier decisions. I highly recommend it to anyone!

Check out their website:Thug Kitchen

*I am in no way affiliated with Thug Kitchen. I am just a huge fan of their cookbook and had to share! If you want tasty dinners, go buy the f*cking book! Hahaha!

One response »

Leave a Reply

