Vegetable Broth

Standard

Well this morning I woke up and was feeling motivated to do something different, besides cleaning…lol! I’ll have toget to that later though…

Over the past two months, my family has made a move to a more plant based diet! So,my husband and I have been collecting our vegetable scraps. When we first began this, we had. Bag in the fridge we would place our scraps. Quickly we realized it would be better to have a freezer continer. So we took a “Tupperware”(not rely Tupperware, but easy to associate) and put it in the freezer. Once we were done slicing. Choping, and peeling veggies, we would just place them in the freezer. 

Remember to NOT put bitter veggies in the scrap container like, Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, broccoli, cabbage or anything that is starting to rot (duh?!).  DO put in celery, garlic, shallots, onions, carrot peels, green onion prices, mushrooms, bell peppers, and herbs like rosemary, parsley, and thyme. 

When you have about 5 cups of scraps this is what you do: (thank you Thug Kitchen). 

1- in a large pot fill with about 9-10 cups of water, add scraps. 

 Here is a shot of the beginning. 

2-get this going to a simmer over medium heat. Add 1 teaspoon (I had to add more after the hour. The broth was a little bland) of salt and pepper. Add 2 bay leaves if you have. Let simmer for an hour uncovered to get all the flavors out! 

  Simmering for about 30 minutes. 

3-turn off heat, let cool and then strain veggie scraps out.

  After an hour!

You can freeze broth for later or put in fridge(use in a week).

Put your container back in the fridge and start filling it up again! 

  

Hope you like! 

I choose to freeze mine for later use!

Till next time! 😄

*I am in no way associated with Thug Kitchen or Tupperware. I just love Thug Kitches recipes and I wish I owned Tupperware! 

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

Leave a Reply

