Organic Zucchini Taco Shells with Chickpea and Broccoli Filling

Standard
Organic Zucchini Taco Shells with Chickpea and Broccoli Filling

Being that I am on my fitness journey and as a family, we are trying to be healthy, attempting to live a more vegetarian with vegan tendencies. There are still some things that I know myself or my hubby can give up (Eggs and bacon…breakfast on the weekends is one of our favorites!) So  anyway, I am always looking for healthy, filling and lower calorie meals. I stumbled upon this recipe “Healthy Zucchini “Taco” Shells” found at: Zucchini Taco Shells

At first when I read the instructions I was a little intimidated. I really thought I was going to flop. However, that was not the case. It came out fabulous!

Here is the recipe (with what I did-in bold–You can find original recipe in the link above)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups organic zucchini, coarsely grated
  • 1 large organic egg
  • 1/2 cup grated organic parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup organic  bread crumbs
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher or sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees F.
  2. Remove as much moisture as you can from the zucchini. Add zucchini to large bowl and mix in remainder of the taco shell ingredients-egg, parmesan cheese, bread crumbs, black pepper, salt, garlic powder, and cumin. [I grated my zucchini early in the am, lightly salted, and laid it out on paper towels. I left it out all day on the counter, i found this really helps when i make zoodles too!]
  3. Cover baking sheets with parchment paper or oven proof baking mat. Scoop about ¼ cup of mixture and press down on baking pan into a thin circle, about 5” wide. Repeat for remainder of mixture.
  4. Bake shells for about 25 minutes, or until the shells look “crisp’ and brown around the edges. We like to bake the shells a little longer for a more charred texture and flavor. Just be careful to not bake too long or else the shells dry out and are hard to peel off. [This is where I was very nervous. In just 17 minutes, the shells were beginning to brown/almost look burnt. I quick pulled them out and began to fear the worst-they are stuck…NOPE! They were perfect!]
  5. After zucchini soft taco shells are cool, gently peel them off the parchment paper.
Recipe Source: WhiteOnRiceCouple.com.
Now, it is time for the taco filling. That would be thanks to Thug Kitchen, another one of my favs!
Here is the recipe direct from Thug Kitchen Chickpea & Broccoli Burrito Filling *REMINDER* They use rough language, prepare yourself for lots of F Bombs. (My edits will be in bold)

ROASTED CHICKPEA & BROCCOLI BURRITO

3 cups of cooked chickpeas  (2-15 ounce cans, drained) [I used 1 can]

1 large yellow onion

1 red bell pepper

1 large crown of broccoli

4 cloves of garlic

1 lime

Spice Blend:

3 tablespoons olive oil

1-2 tablespoons soy sauce, tamari, or Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (You can usually find this old school hippie shit near the vinegars or soy sauces in the healthy eating section of most big grocery stores and on the internet)

2 teaspoons chili powder

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon smoked paprika

1/2 teaspoon ground coriander or more cumin if you don’t want to go to the store

black pepper or cayenne pepper to taste

Heat the oven to 425 degrees. Chop up the onion, bell pepper, and broccoli so that all the pieces about the size of a chickpea. Chop up the garlic real small but save that shit until later. Place all the chopped up veggies in a large bowl with the cooked chickpeas. Pour in the oil and soy sauce, stir, and then throw all the spices in there. Mix until all the vegetables and shit are covered.

Put all of that on a large rimmed baking sheet (like what you would put cookies on but with an edge) and bake for 20 minutes. [I skipped baking and sautéed in a pan instead-still came out fabulous] Take it out of the oven, don’t fucking burn yourself, add the garlic, and bake for another 15 minutes. The broccoli will look a little burnt at this point but that is the plan so chill the fuck out and take it out of the oven. Squeeze the juice of half of the lime over the pan and stir the roasted chickpeas and veggies all around. Taste some and see if it needs more spices or anything. Now make a fucking burrito. I like mine with spinach, avocado, cilantro, and some fire roasted salsa but you do your thing

makes 6-8 burritos

  

This was a super delicious, quick and filling meal! I can’t wait to do it again!

Till Next Time! 🙂

About semicrunchysahmlife

Hi! I’m Kerry and I’m the Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope that you will enjoy reading my successes, struggles, and failures of being a Semi-Crunchy Stay at home Mom. I am happily married to my wonderful hubby, Casey, for 5 years! I have two children, Ethan (2) and Eva (7 Months). I also have two fur babies, Chesapeake (5) and Bayly (3), they are both fun-loving labradors. I was an elementary school teacher for 5 years, and taught second and fourth grade. I am now so blessed to be able to stay at home with my children. While being at home, I am a full-time cloth diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearer, who tries to be as natural and organic as I can be…aka a Semi-Crunchy Stay at Home Mom! Thanks Again!

Leave a Reply

